bracket high-lighting

Feature requests
Post Reply
pwuk
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 3:31 pm

bracket high-lighting

Post by pwuk » Wed Mar 04, 2009 3:36 pm

Hi, this is something I'd find useful, colour high-lighting of the current set of curly brackets working on, like this :

{

{
{
//I'm editing code here
alert("blah blah blah");
}
}

}

Iveco
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 2:03 pm

Post by Iveco » Fri Mar 06, 2009 5:21 pm

Yep, that would be a very useful feature. I would be very interested in this. :roll:

eric_suen
Site Admin
Posts: 678
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 7:00 am
Contact:

Post by eric_suen » Fri Mar 06, 2009 5:47 pm

You can change the color by preferences "Spket -> Editors -> JavaScript Editor", change the option "Highlight matching brackets"

pwuk
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 3:31 pm

Post by pwuk » Mon Mar 09, 2009 12:47 pm

eric_suen wrote:You can change the color by preferences "Spket -> Editors -> JavaScript Editor", change the option "Highlight matching brackets"
True enough and very useful too, but you have to have the the cursor on the matched bracket.

Exception e
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 12:40 pm

Re: bracket high-lighting

Post by Exception e » Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:30 pm

pwuk wrote:Hi, this is something I'd find useful, colour high-lighting of the current set of curly brackets working on, like this :

{

{
{
//I'm editing code here
alert("blah blah blah");
}
}

}
Well, that's why you you should use identation. Then you always know on what level you are. Wouldn't that be enough?

pwuk
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 3:31 pm

Post by pwuk » Thu Mar 19, 2009 10:37 am

Well, that's why you you should use identation.
Well quite, I forgot to add the code indicators

Code: Select all

{
    { 
          {
               //I'm editing code here
              alert("blah blah blah");
          }
    }
}
And yes it does help, but have you seen how many {} and [] you end up with using ExtJS?

Exception e
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 12:40 pm

Post by Exception e » Sat Apr 18, 2009 7:41 pm

pwuk wrote:And yes it does help, but have you seen how many {} and [] you end up with using ExtJS?
You're right. I see cases for this, even when I develop in php. I try to keep the number of levels small in my procedures, but sometimes you still could be helped if the level would be indicated nonetheless.

So I see your point now. 8)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests